On Valentines Day weekend (yes, thats how long ago this was. I’m sorry mom…I’ve fallen behind) five friends and I went to Amsterdam. The group I went with on this trip was made entirely of TCU students. I was only in Amsterdam for Saturday and Sunday, but it was still a great experience, albeit a bit short. 

Image

The View of the City Center from the top floor of the public library. 

 

Image

Image

The slogan on all tourism merchandise is “I AMsterdam”, which I found pretty clever. This life sized sign that we all climbed on is right outside one of the train stations near the center of the city. 

 

Image

EVERYONE rides bikes in Amsterdam. Bikers don’t follow street rules, and are not the most welcoming to tourists on the sidewalks. I was warned that I would be in greater danger of being hit by a bike than a car, and this definitely rang true. I was almost hit by a bike…twice. 

 

Image

On Sunday Morning, two friends from the group and I went to the museum in Anne Frank’s house. This was definitely the most interesting thing we did during the trip. Sadly, I wasn’t allowed to take any pictures inside. I have read the book and heard the story multiple times, but actually standing where she stood and seeing the actual handwritten journal at the end was a very powerful experience. The part of the museum that stood out the most to me was in the very last room, where a movie was playing an interview with Anne Frank’s father discussing what he found when he read the journal once he returned to Amsterdam. He talked about how there were things in the diary she had never mentioned to him before, and it was almost as if he was reading the thoughts of a stranger. His statement that “parents will never truly know their children” left me in awe upon leaving the museum. 

 

Image

With a few hours to kill before flying home, Conner, Brett and I took a boat cruise through the Canals. 

